Britain’s WW2 Cabinet in 1939

The cabinet in 1939 consisted of the following:

Rt. Hon. Arthur Neville Chamberlain, Prime Minister – Born in 1869, second son of Joseph Chamberlain was appointed Director  General of the National Service in 1916. Postmaster General in 1922, he was Minister for Health in three Governments and Chancellor of the Exchequer in two before he succeeded Mr Baldwin as Prime Minister and First Lord of the Treasury in 1937.

Prime Minister in 1939


Rt. Hon. Admiral of the Fleet Lord Chatfield – Born 1873, he entered the Navy in 1886.   During the Great War he served as Flag Captain to Beatty in HMS Lion during the action off Heligoland in 1914, the Dogger Bank action in 1915 and the Battle of Jutland in 1916.  After commanding the Atlantic and Mediterranean Fleets, he became Chief of the Naval Staff in 1933 and in 1939 was appointed Minister for Co-ordination of Defence.

Minister for Co-ordination of Defence


Rt. Hon. Lord Hankey – Born 1877 Maurice Hankey during the Great War was Secretary of the War Cabinet and of the Imperial War Cabinet.  He was raised to the Peerage in 1939, he became a Minister without Portfolio in September 1939.

Minister without Portfolio in September 1939


Rt. Hon, Sir Kingsley Wood, M.P. – Born in 1881 and was M.P. for Woolwich West since 1918.  Secretary of State for Air since 1938, he was previously Postmaster-General and Minister of Health.

Secretary of State for Air


Rt. Hon. Winston Churchill P.C. C.H. M.P. – Born in 1874, son of Lord Randolph Churchill and a descendent of the great Duke of Marlborough, Mr Churchill occupied more positions of Cabinet rank than any other statesman in British history.  He entered the army in 1895 and served in Egypt in 1898, and during the war in South Africa from 1899 to 1900 as a correspondent of the ‘Morning Post’.  From 1900 to 1906 he was a Conservative M.P.; then in the Liberal government was President of the Board of Trade, Home Secretary and first Lord of the Admiralty.  Later he became Minister of Munitions, and Secretary for War, and after the Great War was Secretary for the Colonies and then Chancellor of the Exchequer.

Rt. Hon, Winston Churchill M.P.


Rt. Hon. Samuel Hoare – Born 1880, he was Air Secretary in 1922, Secretary for India in 1931, and for Foreign Affairs in 1935.  Home Secretary in 1937, in 1939 he became Lord Privy Seal.

Lord Privy Seal in 1939


Rt. Hon. Leslie Hore -Belisha, P.C. – Secretary of State for War since 1937.  He was Minister of Transport from 1934 to 1937.

Secretary of State for War


Rt. Hon. Viscount Halifax P.C. – Born 1891, Edward Wood was appointed Viceroy of India in 1926 and elected to the peerage as Baron Irwin.  Returning in 1931, he was Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs in 1939.

Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs


Rt. Hon. Sir John Simon – He became Foreign Secretary in 1931, Home Secretary in 1935 and Chancellor of the Exchequer in 1937.

Chancellor of the Exchequer

This entry was posted in Articles from 1939 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Britain’s WW2 Cabinet in 1939

  1. Pingback: War Diary 23rd August – 3rd September | WW2 Memories

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s